It Ain’t Over ‘Til It’s Over
You may need to continue to receive medical treatment long after your case settles. Dealing with the payment of accident related medical bills can be a confusing and frustrating process. Even though your case may be settled, I will continue to work with you to resolve all outstanding medical bill issues, something a lot of the bigger firms will not do.
It’s important to remember that if you are injured in a car crash, your no-fault auto insurance is obligated to pay 80% of the first $5,000.00 in medical bills, then 100% of your bills above $5,000.00. You will be responsible for the remaining 20%, or $1,000.00, as well as your deductible which is typically $250.00. So, after your no-fault insurance has paid, the $1,250.00 that is your responsibility can be submitted to your health insurance as a secondary source of payment.
Your no-fault insurance may be terminated for various reasons, including:
-You’ve reached “maximum medical improvement” (MMI). At any time, your no-fault insurance company can compel you to attend an “Independent Medical Exam” (IME) with a doctor of its choosing. The term “IME’ is a misnomer, as there is nothing independent about the exam that is conducted by a doctor paid by your insurance company. Typically, the exam is conducted in order to substantiate your no-fault company’s termination of your insurance benefits.
-The Statute of Limitations has expired. The statute of limitations on no-fault claims in New Jersey is a “rolling” two years from the date the last medical payment was issued on your claim. Once another payment is made, then the 2 year period extends from that date. If you seek payment on accident related medical bills after the expiration of the two year period, the bill will be denied by your no-fault company.
If your no-fault insurance is terminated, your health insurance (including Medicare or Medicaid) becomes your primary insurance source. If you do not have health insurance, I will assist you by contacting your medical providers to negotiate your medical bills. When you treat with a New Jersey medical provider, you are not required to pay any charges that are in excess of the New Jersey Fee Schedule. I will be able to determine if your provider has billed you properly and I’ll also seek a reduction of your balance owed.
If you’ve been the victim of a car crash and suffered personal injury, I will not stop advocating on your behalf after your case settles. My pledge to you is that I won’t stop working for you until your need for my services is completely over.